Rise and Shine. Breakfast Time: Oatmeal

OatmealEveryone has those early mornings where eating breakfast just doesn’t seem like an option. When you’re pressed for time, getting something of nutritional value in your system is the least of your worries. So I present to you the perfect solution; oatmeal. Oatmeal is hands down my favorite breakfast to make whenever I’m low on time, and that is very often. It is super cheap, takes less than 5 minutes to make, and keeps me full until lunchtime. I eat oatmeal every morning before my 5 a.m. workouts because it is the perfect thing to fuel my body and give it the proper kick-start. There are many people who claim that oatmeal is not actually a healthy breakfast option, but I disagree with them. Not only is oatmeal packed with nutritious benefits, it’s also delicious.

Oatmeal is a whole grain, and whole grains are awesome for you. They can lower your risk for diseases like high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease. There is a ton of fiber packed into oatmeal; both  soluble and insoluble. The soluble fiber in oatmeal has been shown to lower “bad cholesterol” by up to 15%; which means more properly functioning brains and less stressful lives. The fiber in oatmeal also has the effect of making you feel full for a long time. Unlike fatty and sugary breakfast foods, oatmeal’s fiber sticks your ribs, satisfying you well until your next meal.

Now that you know the health benefits of oatmeal, let’s talk about how to make it tasty. One thing I love about making oatmeal is the wide variety of toppings I can put on it. If you want savory oatmeal, try topping it with bacon, cheddar cheese, or scrambled eggs. If you prefer a sweeter taste, try topping your oatmeal with blueberries, bananas, or sliced almonds.

Here is the oatmeal recipe that I use every morning.

sk2

I buy the 42 oz. container of Quaker Oats Quick 1-Minute Oats. It’s only $3.99 at Target. Occasionally, if I have some in my refrigerator, I top my oatmeal with a handful of blueberries for added flavor. You can use whatever milk you prefer. I like to use whole milk for the extra serving of healthy fats.

If you want more oatmeal inspiration, click here.

SK’s Food Of The Day

almond_fotolia

ALMONDS

Almonds are the perfect snack. Packed with Vitamin E and energy boosting Vitamin B2, these heart happy super foods will have you going nuts.

Feeling inspired? Let me know what you think about this post in the comments section below!

photo credit

photo credit

One thought on “Rise and Shine. Breakfast Time: Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

