Crockpot Cookin’: Lemon Pepper Chicken Thighs

Every Sunday I try to cook a big meal that will last me through a decent portion of the week. I’ve recently just started using my crockpot for Sunday meal prep, and I absolutely love it! Crockpot meals are perfect for when I’m low on time or when I just don’t feel like standing around in a kitchen all day. Today I was super busy with homework, church, and team stuff, and I just didn’t have the time to prepare dinner. So instead, I let my crockpot make dinner for me. I found this recipe online (lemon pepper chicken thighs) and thought I’d give it a try; it was amazing! All I had to do was mix a few ingredients with the chicken, add it to the crockpot, put the lid on, and walk away. In just 4 hours I had a perfectly cooked meal that required less than 15 minutes of prep. Below are some pictures of the process!

                   BEFORE                                                                                      AFTER

IMG_4878                           IMG_4879

Here are pictures of the chicken before and after it was done cooking. I added a few lemon slices for fun. It was so easy putting this together. I mixed all of the ingredients right in the bottom of the pot, and once that was finished I added the chicken. After coating the chicken with the mixture, I set the crockpot to cook on high for 4 hours, and then I walked away. Easy!

 

IMG_4893After the 4 hours was up, I put the chicken on a baking sheet and placed them in the broiler for about 10 minutes. This was just to brown them a little. In order to complete this meal I made brown rice and steamed asparagus. All in all this meal took about 4.5 hours, but I was only in the kitchen for 45 minutes! I will definitely make this again.

 

SK’s Food Of The Day

Orange-Carrots-Health-Benefits-Carrots

CARROTS

Everybody knows that eating carrots can help improve vision, but did you know that carrots can also help prevent cancer? Along with its cancer-fighting qualities, they have also been shown to slow down the aging process and promote healthier skin. Why do apples get all the glory? Sounds to me like a carrot a day keeps the doctor away!

Feeling inspired? Let me know what you think about this post in the comments section below!

photo credit

Leave a Reply

