Fun Summer Fitness

I’m just going to go ahead and make the assumption that the majority of Americans have a love hate relationship with working out. It is something we all make plans to do, but then when the time rolls around to get up and do it, memories of crazy muscle soreness and feeling like you’d never walk again creep back into our minds, and suddenly we make up a million and one excuses about why we shouldn’t get off the couch and go work out. Excuses like “I’m too tired,” “I just don’t have enough time,” or “The Bachelorette is on; I can’t miss a rose ceremony.” Trust me I’ve heard and used them all.

I have been blessed with the opportunity to play Division 1 volleyball, which means mandatory workouts, and I wouldn’t dare make an excuse to miss one of those. But working out on my own is a different story. When the weekend rolls around and I am exhausted from another long week of training, the last thing I want to do is go to the gym and do a boring workout. So to shake up my weekend workouts, I try to find new and exciting classes to take. Exercise classes are a fun way to meet people in your community, experience new things, and burn a lot of calories. My teammates and I brainstormed and came up with a lot of fun class ideas to try this summer. We thought of so many classes, way too many to get done with only two months of summer left, so I narrowed it down to four. Zumba, Spin, Kickboxing, and Bikram Yoga.

1. Zumba

Zumba is one big dance party. It’s infused with every type of music and dance style you can imagine. Everything from salsa, to mambo, to hip-hop. Over the years Zumba classes have gained popularity because of their energetic and spontaneous nature. Each class is typically an hour long session that includes exercising to both fast and slow music, as well as resistance training. My teammates and I plan on taking a class at Z Body Fitness. They offer a wide variety of Zumba classes, and only charge an $8 drop in fee. Out of the four classes we came up, Zumba will definitely generate the most laughter.

2. Spin

Indoor cycling or “spinning” is creative way to remain stationary during a workout and still get your butt kicked. With the guidance of the instructor, you and your classmates will pedal along to music, leaving a puddle of sweat behind you. Sessions range from 35 to 75 minutes, helping you burn up to 900 calories. Sign me up! I have been wanting to take a spin class for so long and now I finally am. Soul Space offers 14 different types of classes, so my teammates and I will have a lot to choose from. Spin classes are a great way to workout with friends, and finally not get in trouble for riding a bike without a helmet!

3. Kickboxing

If you’re looking for a workout that makes you “feel the burn” then kickboxing is for you. It targets your arms, shoulders, abs, thighs, and butt all in one workout. One of these workouts can have you burning up to 800 calories an hour. Phew! On top of it being a great way to exercise, it can also be an amazing stress reliever. You’ll be able to release any built up emotions or tension. 9Round Fitness is a kickboxing studio that focuses on getting in, and getting out. Each session is only 30 minutes, but don’t let the short half hour fool you, you will be dead tired. Your first workout is always free, which is perfect for my teammates and I who are poor college students. I can’t wait to try it!

4. Bikram Yoga

When it comes to techniques, Bikram yoga is pretty similar to traditional yoga. But there is one factor that puts Bikram yoga in a completely different category; it is HOT HOT HOT. The room that Bikram yoga is practiced in is kept at 104 degrees Fahrenheit with a humidity of 40%. Each session is 90 minutes long and consists of the same 26 poses. I’m already sweating just thinking about it. I have taken Bikram yoga classes before and I’ll be honest, you never get used to that heat. But once it’s over, you leave feeling so relaxed and refreshed. Even though it may seem a little bit like torture, there are a lot of health benefits. The heavy sweating that takes place helps to flush toxins from your skin, and the heat warms up your muscles so you can safely go into postures. Juice Box Yoga offers some great classes, and they give student discounts. Score! I am so excited to take this class with my teammates; maybe it won’t be as bad if I have people doing it with me.

Working out doesn’t have to be a boring, routine thing. It can be exciting and challenging all at the same time. All of these classes are fun and out of the ordinary, so I know I won’t be making excuses and reasons not to go. I’m actually really excited to take every single one of them. I’ll keep you guys posted after each class to let you know how they went!

SK’s Food Of The Day

ASPARAGUS

Asparagus is a great source of fiber, vitamins A, C, E and K, and has powerful disease fighting capabilities. It has even been shown to slow down the aging process. Put asparagus in a soup, on a salad, or eat it alone as a side. This javelin-shaped vegetable will protect your body and surely satisfy your taste buds.

Feeling inspired? Let me know what you think about this post in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

