And So It Begins…

Yesterday was the day! I started my seven-day clean eating challenge. It has been fairly easy sticking to all the rules, but temptation has found a way to creep in even over these short two days. It may just be me, but doesn’t it always seem like your cravings for junk food reach an all time high the moment you start a diet. Suddenly those ice cream, pizza, and cheeseburger commercials are everywhere. I have never wanted a brownie sundae as bad as I have these past two days.

But I am strong. So instead of focusing on everything I won’t be able to eat this week, I am going to turn my attention to all of the yummy things I can eat.

It has been surprisingly fun planning out my meals and snacks for the day. I did a big meal prep on Sunday night and made enough food to last me until Friday. I chose Sunday to cook everything because it’s the least busiest day of the week for me. Using that time to prepare everything has really simplified my eating process. I don’t have to spend a lot of time in the kitchen; and packing my lunch and snacks for school has been a breeze.

Here is what I ate for the first two days.

Breakfast

IMG_5054two hard boiled eggs, two strips of turkey bacon, and avocado chunks

I was worried that I wasn’t going to have enough time to make breakfast in the mornings because of how early I have to get up and how often I hit the snooze button. But this meal didn’t require much supervision. When I woke up, I put two eggs in a pot of water on the stove and let them boil. The eggs took about twenty minutes, but I used that time to get ready for practice. It only takes me fifteen minutes to get ready, so I used the remaining five minutes to cook the turkey bacon. You can either cook turkey bacon in the microwave or on the stove. I usually use a microwave because it’s so quick, but I my roommate’s and I are currently without a microwave, so stove it was! After everything was done cooking, I took out my avocado from the refrigerator (that I cut up the night before) and added it to my plate. It took just a little over twenty minutes to have everything done and ready to eat.

Snack 1

IMG_5070smoothie and half a grapefruit

I love love love smoothies. I drink at least 5 smoothies a week. So this was definitely my favorite snack. The smoothie I made had frozen banana, strawberry, pineapple, and mango in it. I used orange juice for the base. Along with the smoothie I had half a grapefruit. Sometimes grapefruit can be really sour, but I was lucky enough to get a sweet one. I have become a super speedy smoothie maker, so this snack only took about five minutes to put together.

Lunch

IMG_5035spinach and mixed greens salad with grilled chicken

This salad was pleasing to the eye and to the stomach. On Sunday night I chopped up onion, tomato, cucumber, bell pepper, and avocado so that I wouldn’t have to spend time doing it during the week. I also used my George Foreman to grill a few chicken breast, and I used those to top my salad with. The dressing that I put on the salad was a balsamic and red wine vinaigrette. Usually salads get a bad rep for being bland and boring, but this salad has so much color and flavor; I can’t wait to make it again.

Snack 2

IMG_5074bread-less sandwich

I started making this type of sandwich after I saw my strength coach, Dylan Hall, eating one. You make it by taking two slices of cheese and filling them will everything you’d normally put in a sandwich. To me, it is just as satisfying as a traditional sandwich. I started with two slices of swiss cheese, then added slices of honey roasted turkey breast, salami, lettuce, tomato, and onion. I also put a sprinkle of Italian seasoning and a dab of mustard.

Dinner

IMG_5073taco salad

Tacos are my favorite food ever, but the fried shells aren’t the most health friendly. So instead of making tacos, I made taco salad. I cooked ground turkey meat on Sunday night and chopped up the lettuce, tomato, onion, and avocado. Out of all the meals, this one is probably the easiest to throw together. All I have to do is warm up the meat, and then put all the toppings in a bowl.

 

So there you have it. That is what I ate for the past two days. Doesn’t sound too bad does it? I don’t think I’ll have a problem completing this challenge, because all the food I’ve made so far has been delicious! I’ll keep you guys updated on how things go the rest of the week.

SK’s Food Of The Day

GRAPES

The Greek Gods realized the benefits of this little round fruit, so you should too! They help fight cancer and kidney stones, high blood pressure, and they can strengthen your eyes. Grapes are easily transportable, so there’s no reason not to include them in your diet.

Feeling inspired? Let me know what you think about this post in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

