Challenge Wrap-Up

It was a long, grueling, laborious seven days, and I don’t know how I did it.

Just kidding! My seven day clean eating challenge wasn’t bad at all. I actually really enjoyed it. I had a lot of fun planning my meals and making them look pretty to eat. I don’t usually put that much effort and thought into what I eat, so doing that was a nice change.

As expected, I did face some temptation. The first couple of days weren’t so bad, but around days four and five I started to rethink my decision to take on this challenge. I just really really wanted some Oreos! But I stayed strong and pushed passed those tough days; and I’m so glad I did. Even though the temptation was still there on the last two days, it wasn’t nearly as bad as before.

Since the challenge has ended I have been able to look back and see its effect on my body. There were good and bad aspects of the challenge, and some things that I didn’t expect to occur. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised with the results.

The Good

More Energy: Last week I had so much more energy than usual. I actually felt awake at my 5:45 am workouts every morning.  I didn’t need an extra 30 minutes to get going. I also felt like I was able to pay better attention in class. As bad as it may sound, I sometimes get very tired in class. Especially if class is right after practice or a workout. But last week I wasn’t struggling to keep my eyes open. Eating clean boosted my energy levels for all of my daily activities.

Faster Recovery: I didn’t get sore last week! Usually when the weekend rolls around I start to feel the thursday chin-ups and friday back squats. My traps and quads are normally pretty upset with me on saturday morning. But that didn’t happen last weekend. My body was able to recover quicker and fight off soreness when I filled it with good things.

Prep Was Fun: This is something that I didn’t expect to come out of the challenge, but I’m glad it did. I really enjoyed thinking about what groceries to get, planning out my meals and snacks, and making them in advance. All of the food was so pretty in it presentation and looked delicious. I was always so excited to eat it!

The Bad

Time Consuming: Although I did really enjoy prepping for and making each meal and snack, it sometimes took longer than expected. In times when I was rushing to practice or class; throwing bacon on the stove or putting together a salad weren’t always the most convenient options. Skipping breakfast or grabbing a granola bar would’ve been a lot easier. However, I wouldn’t have gotten the same nutritional benefits from doing that.

I think the good definitely outweighed the bad in this challenge; so I have decided to keep it up. I really enjoyed the food and benefits that came with eating clean. I’m excited to turn it into a lifestyle!

SK’s Food Of The Day

EGGS

Eggs are the perfect way to start your day. The are low in calories and high in nutritional value.  They’re a great source of protein, Vitamin D, and amino acids. Scrambled, poached, baked, or boiled; adding eggs to your diet is a great start to a healthy lifestyle.

Feeling inspired? Let me know what you think about this post in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

